Image Banner

Platform Graduate Award exhibitions

13th Aug 2018

Our five partner galleries will be exhibiting their selected graduate artists over the coming months. In September, Modern Art Oxford launches a series of solo exhibitions from Wednesday 5th, followed by Turner Contemporary opening their group exhibition on Friday 7th, then later in the month Aspex introduces their group exhibition on Friday 28th. On Friday 2 November, MK Gallery’s group exhibition commences, and finally De La Warr Pavilion will start their group exhibition on Saturday 15 December.

One artist will be nominated by each gallery for the award, with the winning artist announced on 17 November by guest selector, artist Harold Offeh. The winning graduate artist receives £2,500 plus a year’s mentorship.

Exhibition details:

Modern Art Oxford, 5 September – 14 October:

5-16 September Louise Povey, 19-30 September Annie Le Santo and 3- 14 October Luke Dawes.

Turner Contemporary, Margate, 7 September – 4 November:

Lalita Bailey (University of Kent), Kuro D Black (University for the Creative Arts, UCA Canterbury), Kaushikee Gupta (University for the Creative Arts, UCA Canterbury), Holly Jones (Canterbury Christ Church University), Little-Blood (Alfie Killick) (University of Kent), Ty Locke (University for the Creative Arts, UCA Canterbury), Amanda Nsubuga (University of Kent), Ronan Porter (University for the Creative Arts, UCA Canterbury), and Ida Shakespeare (Canterbury Christ Church University).

Aspex, Portsmouth, 28 September – 30 December:

Carol Abell (Arts University Bournemouth), Kane Applegate (Southampton Solent University), Fiona Baanah-Jones (Winchester School of Art, University of Southampton), Simon Beasley (University of Portsmouth), Tash Dalziel (Winchester School of Art, University of Southampton), Hannah Davies (University of Chichester), Rosie Gatford (University of Chichester), Rachel Mortlock (Arts University Bournemouth), Annie Murrells (University for the Creative Arts, UCA Farnham), Josephine Rock (University for the Creative Arts, UCA Farnham), Carl Tai Thompson (University of Portsmouth), and George Waring (Southampton Solent University).

MK Gallery, Milton Keynes, 2 – 24 November:

Bethany Holden (University of Bedfordshire), Elizabeth Leonard (University of Hertfordshire), Travis O’Connor (University of Hertfordshire), and Abbie Schug (University of Northampton).

De La Warr Pavilion, Bexhill-on-Sea, 15 December – 27 January:

Tasneem Arif (University of Brighton), Godith Hawkins (University of Brighton at Sussex Coast College Hastings), Katie Needham (University of Brighton), Oscar Yasamee (University of Hastings) and Maddalena Zadra (University of Brighton).

For more information about the award and the selected artists check out this announcement.

Image: I guess, in a way, I’m grateful, canvas on studio wall at Sidney Cooper Gallery, Holly Jones, 2018.

Sign up to our newsletter

Receive the latest news straight to your inbox Subscribe

Recieve the lastest News & Events straight to your inbox